My Last Day as a Teen (Personal Modifications)


In just a few hours, I’d be turning 20. Whew! Another year had passed; many things had been done and missed. I know, it seems that I am older than my age seems to be, and I don’t know if it’s a compliment or not (!)

Anyway, my objectives for my 20th year on earth deal with implementation of my personal changes, omissions and improvements in life. All the doors that came ajar would be fully opened. Ready to open more opportunities to grow. This is my ultimate birthday gift for myself to keep my coming years worthwhile and exciting.

To keep these things clear and rollin’, the best way to summarize this is to list is all down.

Starting with my: To be lessened/ to be omitted List
1.) Omit smoking – how unbecoming of me to delay this, but really, I have to do this if I want to take out the breathing problems (smoking is the most irresistible thing for me, this is a challenge)

2.) Lessen Alcohol – just last week, I had been dead drunk and my night had ended punching all the people at the table, it was embarrassing, I can’t even remember how I got home

3.) Lessen the self-security – this practice of ‘putting all my shields up’ only prevents me to see the real things and also, it holds me back from additional experiences that thing world offers

4.) Omit Procrastination – my ‘later’ becomes, ‘next week/month/never mind’

5.) Lessen the ‘deadlines and enoughs’ – this year I have to put myself behind the nature, advancing possibilities is one of my most immature practice

6.) Lessen the expectations – time to depend the feedbacks of my outputs into nature’s hands (act and let go)

7.) Lessen the ‘thinking thrice practice’/hesitations – thinking about things extremely only adds stress, might as well do my initial action

Next, the MOOOREs!
1.) More of ‘trying something new’ – it’s now more manageable to make this happen, since ‘classes/school’ is now out of the picture

2.) More of ‘trusting myself and the people around me’ – yet, we have to consider the practice of practicality and common sense in this

3.) More of courage and perseverance – additions of these would contribute advancement to what I want to do, also, it would help me to go beyond my limits

4.) More of acceptance – understanding that everything has a purpose, it could also lessen my complaints and questions about life

5.) More of application and appreciation – understanding isn’t enough

6.) More of cheerfulness – I believe that this would make me glow

7.) More of Optimism – believing on the brighter side of the current situation would not harm anybody

I may have forgotten some, but I think this list would do. It’s very disappointing if I don’t achieve this as I reach 21. I understand that these are all dependent on my actions; everything else will only matter if I bothered to care. I may be winning or losing some people in my life, but hey, that’s life. As long as I’m not doing anything wrong; keeping my intentions clear and pure, I think I can tell myself that I have done my best to be good.

Upon ending this post, I’d like to share a poem that my mom had introduced me years ago.

“I do my thing, and you do your thing. I am not in this world to live up to your expectations, and you are not in this world to live up to mine. You are you, and I am I, and if by chance we find each other, it’s beautiful.”
-Frederick E. Perl

(Puffin’ my last stick of cigar)

The changes listed above are considered ongoing as this post is published.

Leave a Reply

